We provide fun, challenge and adventure to
over 400,000 girls and boys across the UK
a a a  A A
Disclosures Compass POL Print Centre

The Scout Association Awards

At the Scouts we want to thank all our volunteers for their contribution to Scouting - it's an important way to make sure people stay with us and to recognise their achievements.

Awards are a wonderful way to celebrate the achievements of members and recognised volunteers in your team. You can use an award to recognise:

  • gallantry and meritorious conduct
  • outstanding and excellent service
  • long service

Remember that formal awards are just one way to say thanks. Get more ideas for thanking your volunteers and recognising what they do.

If you have an award and would like an additional emblem or replacement these can be purchased from Scout Stores. You will need to provide your membership number so we can ensure you are eligible to purchase these items.

The Awards

In Scouting we have various Awards to recognise achievement:

Our bravest and best (PDF)

Good Service Awards

Good Service Awards are available for Adult Members of the Scouts. 

There are six good service awards available.

Chief Scout’s Commendation for Good Service - given in respect of not less than 5 years’ good service;

Award for Merit - given for outstanding service of not less than 12 years and 10 years exceptionally.

Bar to the Award for Merit may be awarded after a period of not less than five years of further outstanding service.

Silver Acorn - awarded for not less than 20 years of specially distinguished service;

Bar to the Silver Acorn may be awarded for at least a further 5 years of similarly distinguished service.

Silver Wolf is the unrestricted gift of the Chief Scout and is only awarded for service of a most exceptional nature.  It is not normally awarded until at least a Silver Acorn has been gained so it is seldom awarded for less than 30 years’ service.

Nominate someone for a Good Service Award

Gallantry, Meritorious Conduct Awards and The Cornwell Scout Badge

Awards for Gallantry acts can be made to any Member, Associate Member, Occasional Helper, Skills Instructor, Administrator, Adviser or Honorary Scouter, for acts of bravery in the face of danger where life has been at risk. 

The Gilt Cross, with a blue and red vertically patterned ribbon and emblems or brooches corresponding to them, is awarded for gallantry in circumstances of moderate risk.

The Silver Cross, with a blue ribbon and emblems or brooches corresponding to them, is awarded for gallantry in circumstances of considerable risk.

The Bronze Cross, with a red ribbon and emblems or brooches corresponding to them, is the highest award of the Association for gallantry, granted for special heroism or action in the face of extraordinary risk.

Awards for meritorious conduct can be made to any Member, Associate Member, Occasional Helper, Skills Instructor, Administrator, Adviser or Honorary Scouter either for acts of bravery in which there has been no risk of life, or for courage and devotion to duty under suffering. 

Chief Scout's Commendation for Meritorious Conduct medal, on a green ribbon with a blue vertical stripe and emblems or brooches corresponding to them, is awarded for meritorious conduct of a high standard.

The Medal of Meritorious Conduct, on a green ribbon with a red vertical stripe and emblems or brooches corresponding to them, is awarded for meritorious conduct of an exceptionally high standard.

The Cornwell Scout Badge

The Cornwell Scout Badge is awarded in respect of pre-eminently high character and devotion to duty, together with great courage and endurance.

John 'Jack' Travers Cornwell, a Scout in the St. Mary’s Mission Group, Manor Park, London, entered the Royal Navy in 1915. It was wartime and training was brief, but Jack, helped by his days in Scouting, was able to adapt quickly.

On 31 May 1916 while serving in HMS Chester, Jack was struck by a shell splinter. Grievously wounded, he stayed at his post awaiting orders until he was relieved at the end of the battle. On reaching port, Jack was transferred to a hospital in Grimsby and three days later he died a national hero.

For gallantry he was given both the Victoria Cross and the highest Scouting award, the Bronze Cross. To commemorate the courage shown by Jack, The Scout Association created ‘The Cornwell Scout Badge’ in his memory.

This rare award is made to Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts, Scouts, Explorer Scouts and members of the Scout Network in respect of great heroism or pre-eminently high character and devotion to duty coupled with great courage and endurance. The advice in these Guidelines applies equally to this award, but it must be remembered that because of its prestigious nature, it is even more important that high-quality, supporting evidence be submitted with the application. 

Nominate someone for a Gallantry, Meritorious Conduct Award or the Cornwell Scout Badge

Chief Scout's Personal Award

The Chief Scout’s Personal Award is awarded by the Chief Scout, in consultation with the National Awards Advisory Group to recognise achievement not covered by the criteria for any other awards.

The Award is available to all persons in Scouting, irrespective of whether they are a Youth or Adult Member or what position they hold. It may be accompanied, where appropriate, with a suitable commemorative item.

To nominate someone for The Chief Scout's Personal Award complete the application form below with as much information as possible and pass it to the nominee’s Commissioner or the local Awards Advisory Group (if one is in place).

If you are unsure which form to use please do contact your local Awards Advisory Group, Commissioner or the Scout Information Centre for support.

Commissioners Commendation

Can be presented by District, County, Area, Island, Regional and Country Commissioners to recognise adult and youth members and non-members for their contribution to Scouting. This award carries no criteria and is illustrated by a purple knot.

To nominate someone for this Award please contact the nominee's Commissioner directly, if you need any support in contacting the Commissioner please contact the Scout Information Centre.

Length of Service Awards

Length of service awards are available to Members and Associate Members of the Association with eligible roles that accrue service, uniformed or not (with the exception of occasional helpers).

Roles that are eligible for length of service while holding an adult appointment as a member of the UK Scout Association counts towards the service awards. This does not cover service held in a youth role such as a Rover Scout (or Mate) or Scout Network. However, if an adult appointment were held concurrently, this service would count.

Service in the Association is recognised by the Chief Scout’s Length of Service Award at 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 40, 50, 60 and 70 year intervals. A certificate and either a cloth emblem or brooch with a white knot and corresponding green number is available.

Thanks Badge

The Thanks Badge is the means of expressing the appreciation of the Association to those who are not Members or Associate Members but who have been of service to Scouting and is available through Badge Secretaries or via Scout Store.


© Copyright The Scout Association 2020. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Numbers 306101 (England and Wales) and SC038437 (Scotland).
Registered address: The Scout Association, Gilwell Park, Chingford, London, England E4 7QW