We provide fun, challenge and adventure to
over 400,000 girls and boys across the UK
a a a  A A
Disclosures Compass POL Print Centre

Chief Scout's Gold Award

How to earn your award

  1. Earn six activity or staged activity badges of your choice. They could be badges you gain outside of your normal meetings or ones you’ve achieved through your programme.
  2. Complete the nine challenge awards. These are:
    • World Challenge Award
    • Skills Challenge Award
    • Creative Challenge Award
    • Outdoors Challenge Award
    • Adventure Challenge Award
    • Expedition Challenge Award
    • Teamwork Challenge Award
    • Team Leader Challenge Award
    • Personal Challenge Award

Top tips

If you haven’t quite completed the challenges for the Chief Scout’s Gold Award, you can complete them in your first term in the Explorer Unit.

You can wear your Chief Scout’s Silver Award on your uniform until you achieve your Chief Scout’s Gold Award.




Each young person who participates in the Programme, including badges and awards, should face a similar degree of challenge, and requirements can be adapted according to each young person’s abilities.  For more information and practical tips see our guidance on flexibility.

Guidance for Leaders

Read the badge support blog for the top awards, including the Chief Scout's Gold Award here.

For badge support blogs for other badges and awards, click here.


© Copyright The Scout Association 2018. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Numbers 306101 (England and Wales) and SC038437 (Scotland).
Registered address: The Scout Association, Gilwell Park, Chingford, London, England E4 7QW