We provide fun, challenge and adventure to
over 400,000 girls and boys across the UK
a a a  A A
Disclosures Compass POL Print Centre

GSL Essentials

As a Group Scout Leader, you’re important. You’re working alongside volunteers, managing and inspiring a team, and playing a huge role in giving young people skills for life.

Sound like a big responsibility?

Not to worry – you’ll be awesome, but if you need a helping hand check out GSL Essentials.

GSL Essentials is an induction package designed for Group Scout Leaders, Assistant Group Scout Leaders and Acting Group Scout Leaders, to introduce them to their role.

You’ll need to take part in three one-hour webinars, delivered by the Regional Services Team (Group Executive Chairs are also welcome to join). If you’re unsure how to take part in a webinar, we’ve got your questions covered.

You can read these resources before the webinars: 

You’ll need to book onto each of the three sessions separately (it’s more beneficial to do them in order as well). Each webinar can only take 100 participants at a time, so book as quickly as you can. You’ll also get an email reminder as the webinar approaches.

Role of the Group Scout Leader
You’ll learn more about your role, how to make your Group more diverse and inclusive and the responsibilities of the Group Executive Committee. Book now:

Monday 27 January at 7pm
Tuesday 3 March at 7pm
Thursday 7 May at 7pm
Wednesday 1 July at 7pm
Saturday 12 September at 10am

Managing your Group
Interested in learning about techniques to manage your team, keep your young people safe and support your young leaders? Book now:

Monday 3 February at 7pm
Tuesday 10 March at 7pm
Thursday 14 May at 7pm
Wednesday 8 July at 7pm

Managing Growth
Struggling to grow your Group? This webinar will show you the tools available to you, and give you tips to recruit adults. You’ll also get the chance to ask a lead volunteer your questions. Book now:

Monday 10 February at 7pm
Tuesday 17 March at 7pm
Thursday 21 May at 7pm
Wednesday 15 July at 7pm

Recordings will be made available to participants when the webinars end.

At the end of every webinar, you’ll get the opportunity to have your say. This is really important to us as it helps us improve future sessions.

We’re also keen to hear your thoughts on GSL Essentials as a whole – have your say here!

 

CEOP
© Copyright The Scout Association 2020. All Rights Reserved.
Charity Numbers 306101 (England and Wales) and SC038437 (Scotland).
Registered address: The Scout Association, Gilwell Park, Chingford, London, England E4 7QW